Expanded AFCON teams raring to go

With AFCON 2021 moved to January 2022, the teams that qualified will have a long wait till they can dream of lifting up the continent’s biggest piece of silverware.

The qualifying rounds for the expanded AFCON saw twenty-three teams battle it out to secure their places for the tournament scheduled for Cameroon.

Here is a full roster of the teams that qualified for AFCON 2021 :

🇩🇿 Algeria
🇧🇫 Burkina Faso
🇨🇲 Cameroon
🇨🇻 Cape Verde
🇰🇲 Comoros
🇪🇬 Egypt
🇬🇶 Equatorial Guinea
🇪🇹 Ethiopia
🇬🇦 Gabon
🇬🇲 Gambia
🇬🇭 Ghana
🇬🇳 Guinea
🇬🇼 Guinea Bissau
🇨🇮 I.Coast
🇲🇼 Malawi
🇲🇱 Mali
🇲🇷 Mauritania
🇲🇦 Morocco
🇳🇬 Nigeria
🇸🇳 Senegal
🇸🇩 Sudan
🇹🇳 Tunisia
🇿🇼 Zimbabwe

The SADC region will only have two representatives in the tournament with the likes of South Africa, Zambia, Angola, DRC all failing to book their tickets to the showpiece event.

Philani Mukwakwami


Sports are a hobby horse of mine, what happens in-between the lines is just as thrilling as what happens outside of them.